Working Drawing and Cutting With Woodworking Plans and Supplies

woodworking

Working Drawing and Cutting With Woodworking Plans and Supplies

Woodworking has been a passion since I was a child, but it was my father who really pushed me into it. He made me learn how to saw, and with his help even made me build a simple birdhouse when I was just six years old. It was then that I decided to go to college and get an education in the finer details of woodworking. Since I have pursued a degree in mathematics I have always looked at woodworking as a hobby more than a career, however over the past few years I have started to regret that decision. Gradually my confidence in my abilities has dwindled and without a question I have begun to doubt my abilities.

I am no longer a woodworking junkyard freak, I have taken to heart the adage “work daily and learn every day”. A great range of FREE woodworking plans for jigs and tools available online, please take this form to tell others of any new plans that you come across for more projects to try or to report broken links. My latest disappointment with woodworking was a drawing I did some time back for a birdhouse for my daughter’s bedroom. I really like the drawing but somehow I failed to remember one crucial detail and have been repeatedly stumped for a solution.

While inspecting a wooden birdhouse, I noticed that one of the plans included instructions to assemble an “Oily Rags” planks and felt that this was an excellent idea. I measured the inside of the birdhouse and measured the inside of the “Oily Rags” and discovered that there were eight pieces and I realized that my previous calculations were completely wrong. The result was that the birdhouse was too small and the “Oily Rags” planks were not long enough to complete the task. How sad I was, especially as I had previously completed other woodworking projects in a much larger woodworking shop environment with much better results!

There are some good woodworking plans on the market but unfortunately they don’t always detail what the required material is. It seems that woodworkers everywhere are looking for instant gratification, so unfortunately these plans are often discarded and never used. It has taken me several years to fine tune my woodworking skills so I’ve often found plans and ideas that I would like to implement but only found it necessary to measure twice and cut once.

The most important component when beginning a woodworking project is safety. First aid training can also be purchased from your local library, which can prove extremely useful if you become injured in a woodworking endeavor. Once you begin to cut wood, it is vital that you have a quality table saw, router, sandpaper, hand drill, screw drivers and a bench vice to prevent injury. Many of us forget safety gear until we are actually cutting wood and this is the only time when accidents can occur.

The basic woodworking tools are a table saw, chisel, planer and router. The chisel should be sharpened regularly as well as the blade and router should also be kept sharp throughout your projects. With a quality table saw, there is no need to sharpen the blade. The best brands will have a guard to keep the blade from moving and a bench vice to keep the saw from rocking.

Safety gear doesn’t have to cost a fortune. In fact, there are plenty of sources available online that provide excellent woodworking plans and supplies at discount prices. You can also find many woodworking magazines that offer great tips and advice. Some people think of woodworking as a challenge but there is nothing to the challenge to enjoy the process. If you enjoy what you do and take pride in your work, you’ll have no trouble finding the right woodworking plans and supplies to get the job done.

If you’re new to woodworking, don’t be afraid to get some help. There are plenty of books on the subject as well as several great online woodworking plans that you can access. A book will help you through the learning curve and the online resources are usually free or have a minimal fee. Getting some guidance along the way will make working drawing and cutting into wood a lot easier.